I would like to take a moment of your time, dear readers, to express my gratitude for your visits and kind comments, here at my blog… I don’t know how many of you feel about the politics or policies of the United States at this moment in history, and, really, I suspect that there are a myriad of disparate views that may, or may not agree with my own take on things, but, I would like to address an underlying issue, where, I hope, we can find some middle ground….

      Today, I posted the final part of a remembrance called ‘Taps Requiem’… I have felt, for many years, decades, in fact, that the service of the men and women in our armed forces, is sometimes given short shrift, and, in the process, the sacrifice of brave men and women, goes unnoticed, or is mixed together with the politics and policies that lead us to war or conflict, far too often…

     Whether you agree or disagree with the results of these policies, I would hope that everyone could see the distinction between the soldier that serves and the catalysts that created the problem that becomes his sworn duty to address… We are blessed in many ways to live in a country where service is voluntary, but, we should never forget that for each of us who decides not to serve, someone MUST fill that void, and in doing so, expose themselves to injury or even death, so that we can continue to enjoy our freedoms, far from the dangers they must endure, every day…

     Amongst the soldiers that protect our country, are many gay and lesbian warriors, that ask little of us; just the opportunity to serve, and be treated as equals, in a very difficult environment, that, thankfully, is slowly changing. I should tell you, that I served, during a difficult time in our nation’s history, and did so, in the hope that my service would provide something of value to our country… I feel humbled to be linked, in any way, to the soldiers who served and never returned, giving everything that was precious, or possible, to all of us… I never experienced the vicious combat that many endured, and am grateful, on many levels, that the Vietnam ‘conflict’ (as it was called, then…), ended during my service… I completed my duty with a heavy heart, because I was not given the chance to fight the way that many before me did… or, to serve openly, as a gay man, with the opportunity to be honest about who I really was, to the people that were most important to me, at the time… Now, looking back, I am saddened that I felt so cornered, that, when the war ended, I left my service, rather than spend my career, lying to everyone around me…

      Today, I have attempted to honor the fallen, and the brave, who took the call of duty to heart, and served, even if they couldn’t serve openly, and lived continually with the fear of exposure and possible expulsion, even though their hearts were pure… I love them all, and pray that their sacrifice will be  honored in the fullness of time….   Thanks for reading!!  luv, tman <3<3<3

