I’m trying to figure out this blogging thing and I was going from edit page to edit page and kind of daydreaming… I added a background picture for the blog heading and was pleased at the immediate effect. Then, I looked around and saw my avatar…. I liked that photo since I extracted it from the ether… I should explain… These photos look nothing like me, after all, I am 55 years old (sadly) lol!! They do though, represent the way I feel I actually am, minus the inevitable aging that has changed my appearance over the last eleven lustrum (look it up, don’t be lazy). I don’t know, maybe I’m stuck in time, but I have to say that I have always felt like an adolescent albeit with a better vocabulary and a little more wisdom… The world has always been an intriguing place to me; an adventure around every corner! When I talk to kids, I find my favorite audience- they still feel the way I do about life. I get a real kick out of their explorations, their fresh sense of humor, their unfettered enthusiasm… I have lived in that world my entire life! I cannot/probably will not ever identify with the loss of interest, the sad surrender, the sense of doom that many of my adult friends seem to relate to; YUCK; I find it depressing and hard to be around…

           I cannot count the number of times a friend has said things like “Oh well, I guess we’re just getting old…” OMG!  Some of them started this nonsense when they turned 30, I kid you not!!! Shoot me in the head if I ever get like that!!  So, when I enjoy the young people in my life; when I howl like a coyote on a Halloween night with my 5 year old nephew; when I tickle my baby nephew and laugh with him like I’ve never seen anything so funny; when I have “chicken” fights with a kid on my shoulders in a pool; when I play basketball with a 19 year old and get mad because he fouls me everytime I drive for the hoop (lol)-  I am trying desperately to send a message to everyone that can hear or see me- I am alive, loving it, and I intend to stay the way I am until The Good Lord needs me to enliven things for Him up there (hopefully lol). In my future posts, I’m going to start recounting some stories from the first half of my life. They are stories that I have told to many a youngster and actually many an oldster over the years. I’ll do this to memorialize them to print for the sake of those that follow, especially my younger godchildren and the young people (both physically and mentally) in my life, so that they’re not lost to time… So, tie your shoelaces, buckle up; I think you’ll enjoy the ride! Just remember, I’m only a kid!!!

