Let’s see if this novice can write AND publish a post w/o accidentally deleting everything!!!
I think you guys (and gals) probably would have enjoyed my last ramblings in June, but after about an hour of 1 or 2 finger pecking, I made the mistake of trying to review my prior posting before I published the new one and voil^a (hey, that doesn’t work too well) my post vanished into the ether… I think my friend in Colorado probably heard me yell. It didn’t do any good. I still don’t know where that post went, although I have my suspicions…
I’m sure you all have been hearing about our government intercepting e-mails and thingies…Well?? lol!!!
Seriously, though…I can’t regurgitate the last post; I wish I could; it was about my nephew and other important people and things in my life but that moment of inspiration is gone and I have to move on… it still pisses me off though! Sigh!
On another topic, since I’ve now bored the heck out of everyone, maybe someone can explain the new obsession out there…I’ve noticed that over the last 10 years or so, a gradual acceptance of the mundane over the inspirational. Mr. Obama being the exception…
I’m talking about a willingness to accept things as they are and ignore the consequences until they bite you in the A … well, let’s be nice and say Butt. Seriously, if it wasn’t the culture-of-fear thing in the last 8 years, it’s the willingness of many to sit at home and type away at a keyboard ’til their brains putrify!!! I worry about the masses huddled behind their keyboards!!! Oh No!!! I just burned part of my dinner! See!!! I tried to publish my last post @ 2a.m. I thought I would have it more together @6p.m. Huh!!!
Sooner or later, good things can go bad…Yeah, I’m still alive; I’m with the living!!! Maybe I’m in this mood because I’m getting worn down by the willingness of too many people to ignore those around them. There is a generation of kids growing up on a diet of microchips. They are all around us. To too many, they are invisible. Computers are, and should be, tools. They don’t hug our kids. That’s up to us…
I must apologise for the general nature of this post…I find it quite depressing to talk about, but I also have to get this off my chest.
I bought this ‘infernal machine’ in March with my eyes open. I’m a big boy, so I’m not complaining about things changing and all that; I think change is good, I always have. We would all be diminished without it. Here’s the catch, though…
What I have seen, and the places I have visited since I joined this club, frankly depresses me a lot of the time. The human touch seems absent in too many places. The anonimity of the ether seems to have emboldened the worst qualities in many. There seems to be an acceptance, pretty much mirrored by the culture-of-fear society, that that is just the way things are…
Need I remind you people out there, our children are digesting this on a daily basis. I have spoken to some, if you can call it that, and I really worry about them. The old cliche “it takes a village” is really true, but too many of us don’t seem to have the time.
Well, I’m rambling again, and I’m starting to pound the keys, so I’d better stop before this expensive playmate decides I’m a traitor and zaps me into a zombie that doesn’t care anymore!!!
On a more positive note, there is hope out there…There are kids that are loved and guided properly…My young nephew/godson is one. He frequently calls and we talk and laugh(yes, a 5-year-old can be very amusing, at least to me) and tell stories…God, do we tell stories!!!
I should tell you that this is a very intelligent 5-year-old with the wit and worry of a much older person…I’m working on it… the worry, that is….Anyways, there always comes a time in our meandering conversations that I get asked in a cryptic (usually) way to tell him a story…Most times he’ll hint at it by starting to spell STORY, at wich point I feign ignorance until he’s bursting at the seams and finally just out-and-out asks me, saying, UNCLE TONY!!! You know what I mean! Stop joking and please tell me a story, a pretend one! You see, the pretend world is still very interesting to him. So, I rack my mind until I can incorporate new things and favorite things and curious things into this elaborate chronicle that builds and builds to a satisfying end…and then, the inevitable question- Uncle Tony, now could you tell me a real story???
I love him unconditionally, dearly…

P.S. People, please be kind to each other…Listen sometimes, don’t just talk… hug a kid…they ALWAYS need one!!! By, the way, I wish you could all join me for dinner- the unburnt part- chicken cooked in white wine with french tarragon from my garden, fetticine with roasted peppers, onions in a sauce of … hey, enough already, come over if you’re nearby, CHOWS ON!!!

