Where does the time go??? I started this blog as a curiosity; maybe even as a soapbox; probably why I haven’t paid much attention to it…I don’t have much patience for people that spend a lot of time complaining…I don’t want to become what I despise!!!
So, I’ll fill you in on the last few weeks of my life, which have been a little hectic, a little rewarding, a bit difficult… pretty much like the rest of my life after 50…
A couple of weeks ago I attended a college graduation up in Vermont with some dear friends of mine. Their son, who has become, over the last 8 years or so, a 4th nephew of mine, graduated magna cum laude from Middlebury College… He has become quite a fine young man over the years, and I am very proud of him… I guess I will have to stop calling him Punk soon; I will surely miss that…
I don’t know how it happened, but we became quite close over the years… He is joining the “ratrace” now, and for the first time in many years, it looks like we’ll miss our summer pilgrimage to Yankee Stadium … This is a transition that makes me sad, even though I am very happy for his success and perserverence in finding a good job so quickly, especially in this economy!!!
My new baby nephew, lil’ Josh, is quite a firecracker… He will keep everyone on their toes for many years to come; he is, at heart, an adventurer, (my impression) and wants to touch and experience everything, including my reading glasses, which he deftly re-shaped in about 1 second after grabbing them off my face!!! I love him dearly…
His brother, my “punky monkey” Jake, is becoming a great big brother, even though his position in the family has been usurped. He is already, even at 4years,11 months, a little scholar- curious about everything!!! He loves my stories, and will not let me go until each new chapter has been recounted!!! I am now starting all of my stories with “There once was a little boy, and I can’t tell you what his name was, but his name started with a J”. This brings a giant smile from the little guy, he leans in and whispers, “Uncle Tony, I think his name was Jake!!!”
This, of course, prompts the line-(said with amazement, of course) “how did you know?” It has become my schtick, if you will, and now MUST precede each story…Jake and I have a certain simpatico…I am the uncle that taught him how to blow bubbles through his straw at age 2; how to shoot people with straw wrappers at age 3; how to howl like a coyote at age 3 1/2… In fact, I often leave messages for him on the house answering machine that amount to 1 thing only- a loud coyote howl… (just to let him know I’m thinking of him.) He will always be my dear little “punky monkey”.
I could go on and on about my nieces and nephews, but my finger(s) is tiring…Someday, maybe I’ll learn to type with more than 1 or 2 at atime…I also have to figure out how to upload pictures to this blog… It looks like a barren landscape right now; I appologize…however, I’m learning quite a bit about this new (to me) medium, so please be patient and Ye shall be rewarded!!!
Pay it foward all that can hear!!!
Tony

